Rests are ok.


I have this list of titles for various posts and subject matters, some of which I’ve been thinking about for a while now. It has been around two weeks since I last sat down to write, and yet at this moment in time, I just don’t feel very inspired to put pen to paper. Perhaps, those are the days that I am finding myself in – contemplation, reflection….. with lots of questions and not that many answers. I read at least one blog every day and I continue to pour over books and conversations over coffee. But as for sharing anything right now… well… that’s just going to have to wait.

I can have high expectations on myself. I had aimed to write a post at least once every two weeks and over the past year that went according to plan. However, I think its equally important to take the proper time to think and process before simply putting words and thoughts out to the public. I want to include this in my everyday life. Before I say what I feel or think in that moment, perhaps, I should just leave a few moments, or some time, to respond. Perhaps words can be powerful and I fling them around too lightly.

So until inspiration comes my way or I find a great desire to expound on one of those titles. I’ll try to enjoy the reflection and contemplation, and remember that that is ok too. I’ve always struggled with resting. I’m totally the person who likes to tick off all the things on the to-do list before I can sit down and enjoy the break. I remember at the end of every school day, doing my homework first thing because I couldn’t enjoy doing anything else till that was out of the way. That can be a good thing… but it also can be a bad thing. It can be a bad thing when you have those lists in life that you know won’t be ticked that day, or week, or even month. So how do you rest then? It is something that I am continuing to learn. 

So for this title, I’m saying that rests are ok. I don’t have to stick to the lists sometimes. Some times I can put them away in a drawer and enjoy the break. I’m not necessarily putting my blog in a ‘drawer’ right now but know that through the quieter weeks of writing, this is hopefully what I will be doing- resting in my thoughts and reflecting in relaxation.

Till then, may you find rest too!

Leave a Reply

